RESOLUTION 77-211

CONSENT TO ESTABLISHMENT OF EROSION CONTROL LINE

KNOW ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS:

That whereas the United States government and the governments of the State of Florida, <u>Nassau</u> County and <u>City of Fernandina Beach</u>, are about to engage in a cooperative effort of beach nourishment and erosion control; and

Whereas, such program requires the cooperation of owners of property abutting mean high water along the beaches involved; and

Whereas, Chapter 161, Florida Statutes, empowers the Trustees of the Internal Improvement Trust Fund to establish an erosion control line at the request of the authorized local government, provided the owners of more than 50% of the number of lineal feet of property abutting the proposed line consent thereto in writing; and

Whereas, the establishment of such a line and the restoration or creation of public beaches seaward of said line will be of considerable benefit to the owners-as well as the public.

Now therefore, the provises considered, the undersigned, as owner of the following described land abutting the proposed erosion control line, to-wit:

> All of that right-of-way known as "Fletcher Avenue" located within the City limits of Fernandina Beach, in Nassau County, Florida.

acknowledges that he has been advised and understands that the erosion control line, if established, will be the seaward boundary of his property; that he will not gain any lands resulting from the beach nourishment program or from natural accretion seaward of said line; and that he will not lose any of his land which may erode by natural, prother actions of the wind and waters = He also understands that if the erosion control line is placed at any point seaward of mean high tide abutting his property; as = extended to such line; then such submerged land becomes his as upland owner and he will not be required to pay any compensation for same - In 5 full knowledge of the above conclusions of law, the undersigned hereby consents to and authorizes the establishment of the erosion control line = as recommended by <u>Nassau County</u> for establishment by the Board of Trustees of the Internal Improvement Trust Fund.

Witness my hand at Nassau County; Florida, this 17th day of October , 1977 .

Withess

Witness

Chairman, Board County Commissioners Nassau County, lorida ...:

XXXXXXXX Ex-Officio Clerk to the Board

REV. A. GENE PARKS President MOSES FREEMAN, JR.

ñ.

President DR. JOHN M. DAVIS First Vice President MRS. JESSIE M. LESTER Second Vice President DAVID E. HARRELL Treasurer MRS. THERESA B. LOCKWOOD Secretary MOSCO FORFEMAN IN M



Executive Director Post Office Box 52025

opy

V

October 17, 1977

135 Riverside Avenue

Jacksonville, Florida 32201

(904) 358-7474

Mr. John F. Armstrong, Chairman Board of County Commissioners Nassau County Fernandina Beach, Florida 32304

Dear Mr. Armstrong:

As you are perhaps aware, Greater Jacksonville Economic Opportunity, Inc., has been requested by the Federal Community Services Administration (CSA) and the State Department of Community Affairs, to expand community action services to those counties surrounding Duval, including Nassau, Baker and St. Johns counties.

To facilitate this request, it is required that each county government pass a resolution similar to the one enclosed expressing its intent or desire to designate GJEO as the provider for community action services in the respective county. For your information, Baker and St. Johns counties have already passed resolutions of intent.

The resolution does not in any way obligate the Board of County Commissioners for any funding of the service activities that will be operated in Nassau County, but only designates GJEO, Inc., or its successor, to provide those services.

If I may be of any assistance to you in your decision-making process, please feel free to call on me.

An expeditiously affirmative response will be greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

A. Hene

A. Gene Parks

AGP: MFjr/vjl

Enclosure

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Dr. Russell Alderman Julian W. Barrs Mrs. Ethel Belvin Mrs. Barbara Brock Bernard J. Carn William H. Collings

Dr. Patricia Cowdery Dr. John M. Davis* Rudolph L. Davis^{*} Rudolph L. Daniels Dr. Robert Grovenstein David E. Harrell^{*} Weldon E. Laiche^{*}

Mrs. Jessie M. Lester* Mrs. Theresa B. Lockwood* Miss Estelle Long Mrs. Sallye B. Mathis Donald R. McClure* Mrs. Mae L. Miller*

Rev. E. Ronal Mudd June Oberdorfer* Rev. A. Gene Parks* Mary Barrett Phelan* Prof. Norman J. Pollock Mrs. Bobbie Ramsey*

Mrs. Carrie B. Rouser Paul Sanderson Edward Smith Mrs. Eddie M. Steward* Mrs. Mattie Striglers *Executive Committee